Pay Pals


CEO pay is determined by a company’s board of directors. Those directors are compensated for the time they spend shaping the company’s strategy. Here’s what the Fortune 100 executives paid each other from 2008 to 2012.

Find a director
Charles e phillips jr

Charles E. Phillips, Jr.

Charles E. Phillips, Jr.

  • Between 2008 and 2012 he made
  • $675,000
  • as a director, more than 34% of all directors
  • Paid CEOs an average of
  • $15,185,737
  • in the last year of his directorship, more than 52% of all directors
  • Increased CEO pay by an average of
  • $13,950,640
  • between 2008 and 2012, more than 95% of all directors
  • Shares of his companies decreased by
  • 49.6%
  • between 2008 and 2012, better performance than 25% of all directors

The Charles E. Phillips, Jr. Stock Index

From January 2008 to May 2010, if you bought shares in companies when Charles E. Phillips, Jr. joined the board, and sold them when he left, you would have a -49.6 percent return on your investment, compared to a -23.7 percent return from the S&P 500.

Charles E. Phillips, Jr.'s companies

Morgan Stanley

Jan. 1, 2006 to May 18, 2010

Other board members at Morgan Stanley during this time were C. Robert Kidder, Charles H. Noski, Donald T. Nicolaisen and 8 more.

His Yearly Compensation
Yearly Payments to CEOs
  • Stock Performance is the difference between a director's stock index and the S&P 500.
  • A director's stock index is an unweighted index of company stock performances while they sat on the board.
  • CEO pay includes salary, bonuses, stock sales, and other payments.
  • Average CEO Pay is calculated using the last year a director sat on the board of each company.
  • Stock returns do not include dividends.
  • All directors refers to people who sat on the board of at least one Fortune 100 company between 2008 and 2012.

The Pay Pals project relies on financial research conducted by the Center for Economic Policy and Research.

Sources: Google Finance, Yahoo Finance, Morgan Stanley SEC filings (2008, 2009, 2010).

By Shane Shifflett, Jay Boice, Hilary Fung and Aaron Bycoffe