Pay Pals


CEO pay is determined by a company’s board of directors. Those directors are compensated for the time they spend shaping the company’s strategy. Here’s what the Fortune 100 executives paid each other from 2008 to 2012.

Find a director
Blank headshot

Don Tyson

Don Tyson

  • Between 2008 and 2012 he made
  • $7,914,796
  • as a director, more than 99% of all directors
  • Paid CEOs an average of
  • $7,672,754
  • in the last year of his directorship, more than 17% of all directors
  • Decreased CEO pay by an average of
  • $190,163
  • between 2008 and 2012, only 31% of directors decreased pay more
  • Shares of his companies increased by
  • 8.7%
  • between 2008 and 2012, better performance than 77% of all directors

The Don Tyson Stock Index

From January 2008 to January 2011, if you bought shares in companies when Don Tyson joined the board, and sold them when he left, you would have a 8.7 percent return on your investment, compared to a -13.2 percent return from the S&P 500.

Don Tyson's companies

Tyson Foods

Jan. 1, 1952 to Jan. 6, 2011

Other board members at Tyson Foods during this time were Albert C. Zapanta, Barbara A. Tyson, Brad T. Sauer and 8 more.

His Yearly Compensation
Yearly Payments to CEOs
  • Stock Performance is the difference between a director's stock index and the S&P 500.
  • A director's stock index is an unweighted index of company stock performances while they sat on the board.
  • CEO pay includes salary, bonuses, stock sales, and other payments.
  • Average CEO Pay is calculated using the last year a director sat on the board of each company.
  • Stock returns do not include dividends.
  • All directors refers to people who sat on the board of at least one Fortune 100 company between 2008 and 2012.

The Pay Pals project relies on financial research conducted by the Center for Economic Policy and Research.

* Year where CEO pay is prorated because they were an employee before or after their tenure as CEO.

Sources: Google Finance, Yahoo Finance, Tyson Foods SEC filings (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011).

By Shane Shifflett, Jay Boice, Hilary Fung and Aaron Bycoffe