Pay Pals


CEO pay is determined by a company’s board of directors. Those directors are compensated for the time they spend shaping the company’s strategy. Here’s what the Fortune 100 executives paid each other from 2008 to 2012.

Find a director
Blank headshot

Mollie Hale Carter

Mollie Hale Carter

  • Between 2008 and 2012 she made
  • $1,232,997
  • as a director, more than 60% of all directors
  • Paid CEOs an average of
  • $9,432,924
  • in the last year of her directorship, more than 24% of all directors
  • Decreased CEO pay by an average of
  • $6,021,940
  • between 2008 and 2012, only 13% of directors decreased pay more
  • Shares of her companies decreased by
  • 40.9%
  • between 2008 and 2012, better performance than 17% of all directors

The Mollie Hale Carter Stock Index

From January 2008 to December 2012, if you bought shares in companies when Mollie Hale Carter joined the board, and sold them when she left, you would have a -40.9 percent return on your investment, compared to a -2.8 percent return from the S&P 500.

Mollie Hale Carter's companies

Archer Daniels Midland

Jan. 1, 1996 to July 26, 2016

Other board members at Archer Daniels Midland during this time were Alan L. Boeckmann, Antonio Maciel Neto, Donald E. Felsinger and 8 more.

Her Yearly Compensation
Yearly Payments to CEOs
  • Stock Performance is the difference between a director's stock index and the S&P 500.
  • A director's stock index is an unweighted index of company stock performances while they sat on the board.
  • CEO pay includes salary, bonuses, stock sales, and other payments.
  • Average CEO Pay is calculated using the last year a director sat on the board of each company.
  • Stock returns do not include dividends.
  • All directors refers to people who sat on the board of at least one Fortune 100 company between 2008 and 2012.

The Pay Pals project relies on financial research conducted by the Center for Economic Policy and Research.

Sources: Google Finance, Yahoo Finance, Archer Daniels Midland SEC filings (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012).

By Shane Shifflett, Jay Boice, Hilary Fung and Aaron Bycoffe