Pay Pals


CEO pay is determined by a company’s board of directors. Those directors are compensated for the time they spend shaping the company’s strategy. Here’s what the Fortune 100 executives paid each other from 2008 to 2012.

Find a director
Blank headshot

Charlene Barshefsky

Charlene Barshefsky

  • Between 2008 and 2012 she made
  • $3,232,507
  • as a director, more than 96% of all directors
  • Paid CEOs an average of
  • $23,741,517
  • in the last year of her directorship, more than 78% of all directors
  • Increased CEO pay by an average of
  • $3,134,094
  • between 2008 and 2012, more than 67% of all directors
  • Shares of her companies increased by
  • 1.2%
  • between 2008 and 2012, better performance than 59% of all directors

The Charlene Barshefsky Stock Index

From January 2008 to December 2012, if you bought shares in companies when Charlene Barshefsky joined the board, and sold them when she left, you would have a 1.2 percent return on your investment, compared to a -2.8 percent return from the S&P 500.

Charlene Barshefsky's companies


Jan. 1, 2004 to July 26, 2016

Other board members at Intel during this time were Andy D. Bryant, Carol A. Bartz, D. James Guzy and 9 more.

Her Yearly Compensation
Yearly Payments to CEOs
  • Stock Performance is the difference between a director's stock index and the S&P 500.
  • A director's stock index is an unweighted index of company stock performances while they sat on the board.
  • CEO pay includes salary, bonuses, stock sales, and other payments.
  • Average CEO Pay is calculated using the last year a director sat on the board of each company.
  • Stock returns do not include dividends.
  • All directors refers to people who sat on the board of at least one Fortune 100 company between 2008 and 2012.

The Pay Pals project relies on financial research conducted by the Center for Economic Policy and Research.

Sources: Google Finance, Yahoo Finance, Intel SEC filings (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012), American Express SEC filings (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012).

By Shane Shifflett, Jay Boice, Hilary Fung and Aaron Bycoffe